Thursday, May 08, 2008


National Mosque
National Mosque is located within the tourist belt along Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin. With a capacity of 15,000 people and located on 13 acres sprawling gardens, the building's features include a 73-metre-high minaret and an 18-pointed star concrete main roof shaped like an open umbrella. Beside the mosque is the Heroes' Mausoleum, a burial ground of several Malaysian politicians. The building comprises a 7-pointed star concrete roofed structure. It was opened in 1965.

Masjid Jamek
Probably as old as Kuala Lumpur itself, Masjid Jamek is located where it all began - the confluence of the Klang and Gombak River. It was designed by Arthur Benison Hubback and was opened by then Sultan of Selangor in 1909. The mosque was built on the first Malay burial ground in the city took two years to construct. Before the national mosque was built, Masjid Jamek served as the city's main mosque.

As Syakirin Mosque
This mosque is located just behind the Petronas Twin Towers and the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC), named after a prophet.

Federal Territory Mosque
Located near the Government offices complex at Jalan Duta, this mosque is one of the largest in Kuala Lumpur and built in the late 90s. Designed in a Middle Eastern and Malay architecture, its form is heavily influenced by the Blue Mosque in Istanbul, Turkey. It was opened to the public on October 25, 2000 by the 12th King, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Syed Putra Jamalulail. It is the 44th mosque built by the Government within the city limits and can take 17,000 people during prayers.

No comments: